New Vice Co-Chair Introduction

Hello, everyone!

My name is Caroline Collins (she/her) and I am the new vice co-chair of the SAA Women’s Collections Section. While I hail from North Carolina, I currently live in Richmond, Virginia, and work at the Library of Virginia as a local records archivist. My job primarily involves processing Virginia locality government records – I say locality because Virginia is comprised of both counties and incorporated cities that function as county equivalents.

I first became a member of SAA while a MSIS student at the University of Texas at Austin, and I’m excited for the opportunity to work with SAA and its members in a different capacity. I recognize that the section is entering a period of transition, given that it is in the process of becoming a discussion group. During this time, I want to help the section navigate this transition and assist in implementing your ideas regarding what this discussion group can be and how it can best serve SAA and the larger archival community.

Women’s collections and materials are essential to understanding the historical perspectives and lived experiences of women. As an archivist, I want all women, and especially those women that identify with other communities traditionally excluded from memory institutions, to see themselves represented in archival collections. While a vice co-chair, I hope to contribute to the important work undertaken by the section, which will hopefully continue after the section officially becomes a discussion group.

I look forward to collaborating with you all during, and hopefully after, my tenure as vice co-chair!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started